I AM A BEGINNER ~ Sadhana Series

I AM A BEGINNER ~ Sadhana Series

If you are new to Kundalini Yoga this is the perfect place to start! This course will take you through the basics of Kundalini Yoga and Meditation in an 11 part series of 15 - 20 minutes classes.

Kundalini Yoga is known as "the yoga of awareness," encouraging you to open your heart, build strength and release the energy located at the base of your spine. Kundalini Yoga and Meditation is very different to other popular styles of yoga such as Vinyasa or Ashtanga. It is without a doubt one of the more spiritual styles of yoga, designed to allow students to live a conscious and connected life.

Kundalini yoga varies from practice to practice. Within a class or practice, you will find a combination of asana (body postures), pranayama (breathing techniques), mudra (hand positions), bandha (body locks), drishti (eye focus) and mantra (sound currents). These techniques are combined together in sequences called kriya (complete actions).

Through this course you will gain an understanding of the basics of Kundalini Yoga by learning a different technique in each class, including Pranayama (breathing), Mantra (sound), Mudra (hand gestures) and Chakras (Energy Centres). The combination of all these ancient tools and techniques is what makes Kundalini Yoga so magical!

This course is designed for those new to Kundalini Yoga or for more experienced yogis to establish their foundations.

Course Structure:
Class 1: Pranayama (Breathing)
Class 2: Spinal Alignment
Class 3: Mantra (Sound)
Class 4: Nadi Energy Channels
Class 5: Navel Point
Class 6: Bandhas (Body Locks)
Class 7: Mudras (Gestures)
Class 8: Prana and Apana (Energy Balance)
Class 9: Chakras (Energy Centres)
Class 10: Dhristi (Eye Focus)
Class 11: Meditation (Bringing it all together)

What to expect
- 15 - 20 minutes classes
- Learn a new technique in each class
- Understand the basics of Kundalini Yoga & Meditation
- Music playlists to use alongside the classes
- The opportunity to ask Erin any questions in the comments

I AM A BEGINNER ~ Sadhana Series
  • I AM A Beginner Introduction

  • Pranayama (Breathing)

    In this class you will learn the key pranayama practices commonly used in Kundalini Yoga including Long Deep Breathing and Breath of Fire (BOF). Expect to feel energised and confident in your breathing foundations.

    Pranayama is the science of breath, controlling the movement of prana through th...

  • Spinal Alignment

    In Kundalini Yoga a lot of the postures we do are working on aligning the spinal, both physically and energetically. Preparing the body and aligning the energy at your spine is what prepares you for deep meditation. Move through the spine in a simple class of forward bends, back bends and twists ...

  • Mantra (Sound)

    Mantra is a powerful part of Kundalini Yoga and is used in meditation as well as throughout your yoga practice. We are creating with every word we speak, and even with every word we think. By replacing your mundane and often negative thought patterns with mantra you can uplift yourself to feel ca...

  • Nadi Energy Channels

    A deeply meditative breath session to balance the energy through the three main nadi channels. Start by warming up through the spine with Sufi Grind and Cat Cow. Remain seated as you move through a pranayama (breath) series including Left Nostril breathing, Right Nostril Breathing and Nadi Shodan...

  • Navel Point

    Move through a powerful short tune up of the navel point to feel strong and energised. Centring your energy at your navel point allows you to feel balanced, strong and in control. Using breath of fire throughout the class you will stimulate your energy and charge up the navel point. Start with wa...

  • Bandhas (Body Locks)

    Direct and maximise the flow of energy within the body through the use of bandhas in this introductory class to this ancient yogic technique. This class will take you through the central bandhas used in Kundalini Yoga: Mulabandha, Uddiyana Bandha, Jalandhara Bandha and a combination of all three,...

  • Mudras (Gestures)

    Use mudras to channel the way energy flows through the nadis (energy channels). This class will start with an active yoga set to create a balance of energy in your body before moving into a mudra based meditation series to bring healing energy into your heart. Learn how to feel energy in your pal...

  • Prana and Apana (Energy Balance)

    One of the main goals in yoga is to balance the energy that flows within you. In yogic philosophy the two opposing energies in the body are known as Prana (upward energy) and Apana (downward energy). These two energies meet at the navel centre where kundalini is stored. This practice will bring y...

  • Chakras (Energy Centres)

    Balance out your energy in this active and slightly challenging set that will introduce you to the chakras. Starting with the lower energy centres, known as the lower triangle, you'll work your way up the spine to the upper chakras to rebalance your energy centres and create an infinite experienc...

  • Dhristi (Eye Focus)

    Ever find your mind wandering off and suddenly you're thinking about a conversation you had today or what's for dinner later? This is where drishti comes in! Drishti or focused gaze, is a means for developing concentrated intention and can be an inward gaze or outward gaze. In Kundalini Yoga we o...

  • Meditation

    To sum up our beginners series we will finish off by bringing together all the tools and techniques we have learnt into a meditation practice. The ultimate goal of asana (physical poses) in your yoga is to prepare the body so that you can sit in meditation and have a deep infinite experience. Thi...

  • I AM A Beginner Calendar

    20.2 KB

    Download the I AM A Beginner Calendar!